Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast
    Big Dreamer
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    Downloads
    Uploads

Did a little experiment of my own...take the results with a grain of salt....

I thought I would put this out there. I have been breeding rats since 2011. They make wonderful pets. I do not breed them for snake food! I know a lot of people find them gross, that is fine, but I decided to switch up their diets to see if LE and HE diets effect them at all. Take this all with a grain of salt...obviously rats and humans are quite different.

Since their cycles are every 5 days or so I decided to put them on each diet for 15 days (the equivalent of 3 months for us). They average 8 babies each time. I only breed a female once at 3 months old. I only breed once every three months.

I started this little experiment 10 months ago. I decided to do the LE diet first since I started the LE diet around that time as well. Just the female got a low fat low protein diet- I gave her a set limit of food each morning and night. She didn't necessarily get a lower calorie diet, but she got a set amount in the morning and didn't get more until the evening. I didn't worry much about vitamins since I was concerned about the babies health. None of my rats get a supplement, they all get vitamins from their diets, so I didn't mess with it.

Her litter was only 5 pups, which is a bit less than what I am used to (once in awhile we get 7 or 9, but never 5). She had 4 females and 1 male...which got me a little excited since it seemed the diet had worked. Most of the time my rats have 5 males and 3 female pups, sometimes we get lucky and get four females and four males. So my conclusion was that diet does play a pretty important role.